Mathletes Compete in MATHCOUNTS Competition

Mathletes from middle schools across Okaloosa County converged onto the Okaloosa STEMM Center campus recently for the regional MATHCOUNTS Competition.

This event is sponsored annually by the Emerald Coast Chapter of the Florida Engineering Society whose members, along with volunteers from the Emerald Coast Society of American Military Engineers at Eglin, serve as proctors and scorers. 

“Mathletes competed both as individuals and in teams answering rigorous math questions requiring general math knowledge as well as specific knowledge of algebra and geometry,” said District Science Specialist, Debbie Davis.  “Students had to think quickly and employ mental math skills as they raced to answer the questions faster than their competitors.”

Ruckel Middle School won the first place team award this year followed by the Bruner Middle School team in second.  Trey Buck from Ruckel Middle School emerged as the first place individual winner after a grueling countdown round.

The first and second place teams along with two individual winners from Destin Middle School will advance to the state competition to be held in Orlando in March. 

“Most of the expenses for student winners and coaches to attend the state competition will be covered by the Emerald Coast Chapter of the Florida Engineering Society and by funds provided through a National Defense Education Program grant through the Eglin Air Force Research Lab,” said Davis.


First Place Team Ruckel Middle School (From Left to Right): Back Row: Trey Buck, Ryan Erickson; Front Row: Alexandria Tolbert, Rachel Cathy, Lauren Murray

Second Place Team Bruner Middle School (From Left to Right):  Rachael Metruck, Chase Cleveland, Taylor Russell, Brian Duffey, Kasey Rigby

Top Ten Individual Winners with Master of Ceremonies, Jason Autrey (From Left to Right/in order 10th place up to 1st place):  Charis Allen(Rocky Bayou), Alexandria Tolbert(Ruckel), Rachael Metruck(Bruner), Lauren Murray(Ruckel), Ben Esses(Rocky Bayou), Liam Ordner(STEMM),  Matthew Woods(Destin), Adam Van Belkum(Destin), Ryan Erickson(Ruckel), Trey Buck(Ruckel)

Students who will attend the State Competition.

Volunteers from Emerald Coast Chapters of the Florida Engineering Society and the Society of American Military Engineers.