November 14 Declared National Education Support Professionals Day

The Okaloosa County School Board declared November 14, 2012, as National Education Support Professionals Day at their November 13 board meeting.

As stated in the proclamation, public schools are the backbone of our democracy, providing young people with the tools they need to maintain our nation’s precious values of freedom, civility, and equity; and Educational Support Professionals are an integral part of the education process.

“Education Support Professionals work tirelessly to serve our children and communities with care and professionalism,” said Superintendent Dr. Alexis Tibbetts. “On a daily basis, our Education Support Professionals that great pride in using their numerous skills which are rooted in human relations, communications, verbal presentations, technical knowledge, use of resources and positive personality traits. The Educational Support Professionals in our School District are to be commended for the professional manner in which they perform their duties; they put forth effort, individually and collectively, to assure that our educational system will continue to have prosperity and success.”

Education Support Professionals Day focuses on the importance of these school employees, who take care of students every day, making sure they have the tools they need to succeed in school. Education Support Professionals Day was first celebrated in 1987, after the National Education Association’s Representative Assembly called for the creation of a way to honor the contributions of school support staff.

The name reflects a growing pride in the valuable role Education Support Professionals play throughout America's public schools. Today's support professionals provide invaluable services that enable students to learn in positive, supportive environments.

Pictured above (left to right): Dr. Alexis Tibbetts, Superintendent; Randee Chambers, OCESPA Vice President; Dianna Smith, OCESPA Secretary; Linda Fountain, OCESPA VP Membership Chairperson; and Andrea Waters, OCESPA ESPY Chairperson.