Elementary and Middle School Testing

FCAT 2.0 Reading, Mathematics, Science, and Writing

The FCAT 2.0 measures student achievement of the Next Generation Sunshine State Standards (NGSSS), which replaced the Sunshine State Standards, in reading, mathematics, science and writing. FCAT 2.0 Reading and Mathematics were first administered in spring 2011, FCAT 2.0 Science was first administered in spring 2012 and FCAT 2.0 Writing was first administered in spring 2013. FCAT 2.0 Reading, Mathematics, Science and Writing are administered each spring, and the Grade 10 FCAT 2.0 Reading Retake is offered in the spring and fall each year.

Students to be Tested in 2013-14:
• Students enrolled in grades 3-10 will participate in FCAT 2.0 Reading
• Students enrolled in grades 3-8 will participate in FCAT 2.0 Mathematics
• Students enrolled in grades 5 and 8 will participate in FCAT 2.0 Science
• Students enrolled in grades 4, 8 and 10 will participate in FCAT 2.0 Writing
• Students who have not passed their required reading assessment in grade 10 for graduation purposes will participate in the FCAT 2.0 Reading Retake

Note: In accordance with Section 1008.22(3)(b)1., Florida Statutes, “Middle grades students enrolled in Algebra I or geometry must take the statewide, standardized EOC assessment for those courses and are not required to take the corresponding grade-level FCAT.”

  FCAT Links



  Electronic Practice Assessment Tools (ePAT)