Anne T. Mitchell County Honors Program

This annual award recognizes Okaloosa's top senior scholars with an elegant ceremony at the NWFSC Fine Arts Center in Niceville. The award was established in 1975 by then-School Board member Anne T. Mitchell.

Three special awards are presented to graduating seniors during the ceremony:

  • The Peggy Gorday Bruner Award is presented to the county's most outstanding academic scholar.
  • The Gerald B. Gill Award is given to the student who has shown the most improvement during high school, in terms of leadership, character and academics.
  • The Maryann Foreman Award honors a senior who has overcome exceptional challenges and who is committed to post-secondary education and achieving career goals