Controlled Open Enrollment

Students are assigned to schools based on the attendance area in which they live.  Parents/Guardians may request a different school placement by submitting a Controlled Open Enrollment (COE) application online.  Requests will be approved if seats are available in the selected school. Once a student has been approved, the parent/guardian is responsible for enrolling the student in the selected school.  Please review the following for additional information.

How do I know if I need to submit an attendance waiver application for 2018-19?

  • Submit an application only if you are requesting an attendance waiver to a new school next year outside of your attendance zone.  Use the School Site Locator to see what school your student is zoned to attend.
  • Do not submit an application if you are attending your zoned school next year. 
  • Do not submit an application if you have an attendance waiver for the current year and you are returning to the same school next year.

How do I learn more about Controlled Open Enrollment?

Visit and click on Controlled Open Enrollment.

  • Controlled Open Enrollment policy
  • Question and Answer document for families
  • School Capacity Report showing which schools have available seats for next year 
  • An email address is provided on the webpage for parents to submit additional questions

When/Where do I submit an application?

  • The application window is open from January 16, 2018 – February 15, 2018 to apply for seats for the upcoming year.
  • Parents can view the list of schools with available seats and apply online through our Controlled Open Enrollment (hyperlinked to: webpage.
  • Parents can also contact the school directly for more information or send questions by email to

Are there any district schools that are not part of the Controlled Open Enrollment process?

The following schools are either Magnet programs or Centers schools and have separate criteria for admissions.  Please contact the school directly for enrollment information.

1.       STEMM Academy
2.       NWF Ballet Academie
3.       Silver Sands – ESE Center School
4.       Richbourg School – ESE Center School
5.       Southside Primary – Crestview
6.       Okaloosa Technical College
7.       Best Chance – North (ECCI-North)