Picture of  Connor Cleveland and Sonja Daldine


The National Award Program Releases the Names of 2017 State Finalists and School Winners

Wendy’s® recently recognized two Fort Walton Beach High School students as the Wendy’s® High School Heisman® State Finalist, Connor Cleveland, and School winners, Connor Cleveland and Sonja Daldine.  They are high character student-athletes who have displayed excellence and integrity both on and off the field as State Finalists and School Winners in the Wendy’s® High School Heisman®. For these students, taking the easy way out or cutting corners isn’t an option and Wendy’s is proud to honor their dedication.

The State Finalists will go on to compete for the title of State Winner, where one male and one female student from each state will also receive a Wendy’s High School Heisman Scholarship. Each State Finalist will receive a bronze medal, a Wendy’s High School Heisman State Finalist patch and a $25 Wendy’s gift card. School Winners will receive a certificate and Wendy’s High School Heisman patch. A complete list can be find at www.wendysheisman.com/results/.

Like the Heisman Memorial Trophy®, Wendy’s believes in the pursuit of athletic and academic excellence with integrity. Since 1994, Wendy’s and the Heisman Trophy Trust have been running the same play to perfection: honoring more than 600,000 of the nation’s most esteemed students. Our partnership succeeds because we share a common set of values wherein going above and beyond is the norm. We want to honor students who do the same and profile their stories of perseverance as a way to inspire the tomorrow’s senior class.

State Winners will be announced on October 19, 2017 and receive a $1,000 scholarship and a silver medal.  From that group, 10 National Finalists* will be selected.  Their scholarship will increase to $5,000 and will receive a gold medal and a Wendy's High School Heisman National Finalist Heisman patch. In addition, they’ll be invited to the Wendy’s High School Heisman Weekend, including the National Awards Banquet in New York City on December 8. During the banquet, one female and male winner will be honored as National Winners of the Wendy’s High School Heisman and their scholarship will increase to $10,000.

About Wendy's High School Heisman

The Wendy's High School Heisman was created by Wendy's founder Dave Thomas in 1994.  Dave Thomas dropped out of high school when he was 15 years old in order to work full-time and went on to become one of the most successful entrepreneurs in history.  While this nontraditional path led to his prosperity, it always worried Dave that others would follow in his footsteps and expect to achieve similar fame and wealth by not finishing high school or attending college.

Faced with this dilemma, at 61 years old, Dave enrolled at Coconut Creek High School in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., and received his General Equivalency Diploma (GED). Inspired by this moment and with a desire to celebrate the outstanding achievements of youth in America, he launched the Wendy's High School Heisman program.

Twenty-two years later, Wendy's High School Heisman has honored more than 600,000 of the nation's most esteemed high school seniors who share Wendy's values of giving back to their communities, treating people with respect, continuing education and excelling on the athletic field.

The Wendy's High School Heisman is a joint program between Wendy's and the Heisman Trophy Trust, host and custodians of the Heisman Memorial Trophy®

About Wendy's

The Wendy's Company (NASDAQ: WEN) is the world's third largest quick-service hamburger restaurant chain. The Wendy's system includes more than 6,500 restaurants in 29 countries and U.S. territories. For more information, visit www.wendys.com.

The Wendy's name and design and the Wendy's High School Heisman and design are trademarks of Quality Is Our Recipe, LLC.  The Heisman Memorial Trophy, Heisman name and Heisman Trophy figure are registered trademarks of the Heisman Trophy Trust, used with permission.

*State Winners who do not go on to become National Finalists receive a $1,000 scholarship. National Finalists who do not go on to become National Winners receive a $5,000 scholarship.  National Winners receive a $10,000 scholarship. This scholarship is based on the final level achieved and is not cumulative.

# # #