NHS Seniors Named Semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program

 Semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program

Jackson Cook, Dane Dickerson, Luna Holub, and Sara Strunk were among the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.  These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. Niceville High School has the most National Merit Semifinalists than any other Okaloosa public and charter school.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation is a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance.  It was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program.  Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 410 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.  Students qualify for the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the PSAT during their junior year of high school.

All four students are enrolled in multiple Advanced Placement and University of Cambridge courses at Niceville High School.

Pictured above (left to right):  Sarah Strunk, Luna Holub, Principal Charles Marello, Jackson Cook, and Dane Dickerson.