Picture of Pryor staff and student with Santa during Angel Tree Program.

Pryor MS Angel Tree Program Provides Gifts to 70+ Students

Pryor Middle School teamed up with local businesses and community members to provide Christmas gifts to over 70 Pryor students.  The Pryor students wrote letters to Santa and a committee then selected students to include on the Angel Tree based on financial need.  The students asked for a variety of things like bikes to ride to school, shoes and coats, beds to sleep on at home, a wheelchair for a parent, and much needed school supplies and personal hygiene products.

The students were called to the Media Center where Santa and his elves presented them with their gifts.  The students were also treated to a private pizza luncheon.

Pryor and District staff members adopted many of the students off the Angel Tree and provided the gifts for them.  Pryor’s Pirate Krewe also helped by doing a rummage sale to raise money and they shopped for their selected students from the Angel Tree.  However, Pryor could not have included as many students in the Angel Tree Program as they did, without the generous support of the following individuals and businesses:

Outside Donations

  • Ken and Maryann Leone
  • Marlene Barron
  • Bryan Poole
  • Cindy Denton
  • Beachside Church and Pastor Sean Ellis

14 Bicycles

  • Jay Ghosh


  • Cindy Denton and American HomePatient


  • LensCrafters

3 Beds (Matress, Box Springs, Frame, Pillow, Blanket, Sheet Set)

  • Sam’s Club
  • Olen Holsten

Santa Claus

  • John O’Connor
  • Sam’s Club

Pryor Staff

  • Linda Tyce
  • Suzzanne Barber
  • John Felten
  • Bob Grant
  • Cana Sylvester
  • Dana Brennan
  • Cheryl Thompson
  • John Zirpola
  • Ginger Clark
  • Charles Horton
  • Leslie Sintes
  • Jennifer Bryant
  • Melissa Miller
  • Pam Summers
  • Beth Clary
  • Tamara Sager and the Pirate Krewe (8th grade Leadership Team)
  • Brooke Barron
  • Peggy Nehring
  • Joyce Valdez
  • Don Massarelli and the Athletic Department
  • Brooke Faile and Sarah Lancaster (provided lunch for all students)

District Staff

  • Clay Townsend
  • Sharon Bartels-Wheeless
  • Kim Minor
  • Terrie Schroeder
  • Zoila Ganuza
  • Sandy Arteaga
  • Marilyn Blalock

See a photo gallery from this event here!