Kids Tag Art Project Helps Elementary Art Departments  

The Okaloosa County Tax Collector, in partnership with the Okaloosa County School District, recently announced the results of the Kids Tag Art fundraiser and art contest.

“The Kids Tag Art program has raised $9,091.00 for participating elementary schools at a time when money for art curriculum is hard to find!” said Tax Collector Ben Anderson.  “The Kids Tag Art program is a two-fold program. First, it encourages 5th graders to design and create their own vehicle specialty plate. Next, it is a one-of-a-kind art contest and recognition program where two 5th grade students from each participating school are selected as Award of Distinction Winners.”

At the March 9th School Board meeting, Anderson recognized the contest winners and their Principals, along with their Art Teachers.  “We were delighted to partner with Superintendent Mary Beth Jackson in offering this fundraising opportunity to the elementary schools. We were very fortunate to have the support of our sponsors as well and would like to thank Okaloosa Gas, the Florida Heart Research Institute, GCOP and Chick Fil A on Beal Parkway.”

The Tax Collector’s Choice award went to Shalimar Elementary 5th grader, Cheyann Henry-Houston. Anderson and Cheyann are pictured below placing her winning tag on his vehicle. Anderson said he will have her tag on his vehicle until another winner is announced next year.

Congratulations to all of the school winners:

Bluewater Elementary:

Sky Braley & Alexis Duff

Bob Sikes Elementary:

Angelina Maldonado & Sierra Chaddock

Edge Elementary:

Josey Dickerson & Gabe Jordan

Elliott Point:

Zhamira Amaison & Miguel Oceguedo

Florosa Elementary:

Gabrielle Perez & Elizabeth Beyer

Kenwood Elementary:

Elizabeth Sidley & Luana Lim

Liza Jackson Preparatory:

Kerrigan Wesley & Emily

Longwood Elementary:

Dannika Kilgore & Reese Thomason

Northwood Elementary:

Brenna Duncan & Jaemo Kim

Riverside Elementary:

Riley King & Yajaira

Shalimar Elementary:

Candace Tras & Jessie Spencer

Walker Elementary:

Naomi Barr & Miguel

Tax Collector’s Choice Award Winner:

Cheyann Henry-Houston, Shalimar Elementary

Award of Distinction winning tags are available for sale to the public at: Proceeds from public sales go to the Okaloosa Public Schools Foundation and will be evenly divided among participating schools.