Educational Support Professionals Day – Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Mary Beth Jackson, Superintendent of Schools, proclaimed Wednesday, November 18, 2015, as Education Support Professionals Day at the November 9, 2015 School Board meeting.  National Education Support Professionals Day honors educational support personnel and recognizes the contributions they make to public education. 

Education Support Professionals are an integral part of the education process.  These employees work tirelessly to serve the children and communities with care and professionalism.  On a daily basis, Education Support Professionals take great pride in using their numerous skills which are rooted in human relations, communications, verbal presentations, technical knowledge, use of resources and positive personality traits.

“The Educational Support Professionals in our School District are to be commended for the professional manner in which they perform their duties; they put forth effort, individually and collectively, to assure that our educational system will continue to have prosperity and success,” said Mary Beth Jackson, Superintendent of Schools.

According to the National Education Association website, Education Support Professionals (ESP) Day focuses on the importance of these school employees, who take care of students every day, making sure they have the tools they need to succeed in school.  Education Support Professionals (ESP) Day was first celebrated in 1987, after NEA's Representative Assembly called for the creation of a way to honor the contributions of school support staff.  Today's support professionals provide invaluable services that enable students to learn in positive, supportive environments.

Pictured above left to right are Donna Poole, OCESPA Site Rep for Transportation South; Keith Forest, OCESPA Custodial Rep; Superintendent of Schools, Mary Beth Jackson; Stacy Smith, HR Assistant Superintendent; Anne Richardson, OCESPA VP; Patrick Strong, OCESPA President; Dianna Smith, OCESPA Secretary; Jolene Bruce, OCESPA Classroom Assistant Representative; Griselda Iris DeLeon, OCESPA Minority Rep; Starla Lucas, OCESPA Treasurer; Linda Fountain, and OCESPA VP of Membership.