Academic Scholars Recognized for Accomplishments

Students, parents, friends, and administrators gathered at the Mattie Kelly Fine Arts Center April 28th for the Anne T. Mitchell Academic Honors Program.

The annual Academic Honors Program was established by the Okaloosa County School Board in 1975 at the suggestion of then-Board Member Anne T. Mitchell.  Later, in recognition of Mrs. Mitchell’s commitment to recognizing academic excellence among our students, the awards assembly was named in her honor.

Today the Anne T. Mitchell Academic Honors Program is widely replicated by school districts throughout Florida.  Students honored in this assembly are receiving the most prestigious accolades in our county school system.

The Okaloosa County School Board Members share your families’ pride in these remarkable young people and their accomplishments.  Your guidance, understanding, and love are so important in shaping the lives and molding the values of the accomplished scholars to whom we pay tribute.

The evening began with the Presentation of the Colors by the U.S. Air Force JROTC Color Guard from Choctawhatchee High School.  Then the Baker School Chorus sang the National Anthem.

The Honorable Vince Bruner presented the Peggy Gorday Bruner Award.  The Peggy Gorday Bruner Award is presented each year to the most outstanding scholar in the county.  This year’s award went to Renish Contractor, Niceville High School.

The other students nominated for this prestigious award were: Seth Forehand, Baker School; Rachel Pan, Choctawhatchee High School; Destiny Moser, Crestview High School; and Chasen Pridgen, Fort Walton Beach High School.

Academic District Honors Recognition

Cum laude, a Latin term that means with honor, is used to refer to students who have met high academic standards at the time of graduation. There are three honors that are bestowed on graduates, including cum laude, which means with honors, magna cum laude, which means with great honor, and summa cum laude, which means with greatest honor.

The Okaloosa County School District recognizes the following Cum Laude distinctions:

Summa Cum Laude – 4.5+ WGPA
Magna Cum Laude – 4.2 - 4.49 WGPA
Cum Laude – 4.0 - 4.19 WGPA

To see a list by school of the District’s Cum Laude graduates, please click here.

To see a photo gallery of this event, please visit the OCSD Facebook page.

Congratulations to all of the District’s Honor Graduates!