Picture of Sales Tax Holiday 2016 Title

2016 Back-to-School Sales Tax Holiday

August 5 through August 7, 2016

Florida's back-to-school sales tax holiday will begin at 12:01 a.m., Friday, August 5, 2016, and end at 11:59 p.m., Sunday, August 7, 2016.

During this holiday period, Florida law directs that no sales tax or local option tax (also known as discretionary sales surtax) will be collected on purchases of:

  • Clothing, footwear, and certain accessories selling for $60 or less per item, and
  • Certain school supplies selling for $15 or less per item.

This holiday does not apply to:

  • Any item of clothing selling for more than $60;
  • Any school supply item selling for more than $15;
  • Books that are not otherwise exempt;
  • Personal computers and computer-related accessories;
  • Rentals or leases of any of these items;
  • Repairs or alterations of any of these items; or
  • Sales of clothing or school supplies in a theme park, entertainment complex, public lodging establishment, or airport.

“Clothing” means any article of wearing apparel, including all footwear (except skis, swim fins, roller blades, and skates) intended to be worn on or about the human body. Clothing does not include watches, watch bands, jewelry, umbrellas, or handkerchiefs. 

“School supplies” means pens, pencils, erasers, crayons, notebooks, notebook filler paper, legal pads, binders, lunch boxes, construction paper, markers, folders, poster board, composition books, poster paper, scissors, cellophane tape, glue, paste, rulers, computer disks, protractors, compasses, and calculators.

See a complete list of all exempt items here.