Advanced Computer Science Principles

Mrs. Bates

tasha.bates@okaloosaschools.com

Syllabus for the 2019-2020 School Year

Assignments not completed in class can be done at home. If a student needs to stay afterschool to use the computers to finish an assignment, please make arrangements with me to stay.

Week of March 30

Google Form Regarding Technology Access

Code.Org 5-13

Code.Org 5-14

Unit 5-3 Quiz

Codecademy Introduction to JavaScript


Monday, March 9

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-11

While Loops

Code.Org 5-12

Loops and Simulations

Tuesday, March 10

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-12

Loops and Simulations

Code.Org 5-13

Introduction to Arrays

Staying Afterschool

Wednesday, March 11

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-13

Introduction to Arrays

Staying Afterschool

Thursday, March 12

Bellringer

Create Task

Day One

Friday, March 13

Bellringer

No School


Monday, March 2

Bellringer

NMSI

Control Structures in Programming Languages

Tuesday, March 3

Bellringer

Flow Charts

Wednesday, March 4

Bellringer

Flow Charts

Thursday, March 5

Bellringer

Chapter 5 Chapter 1 Test Review

NMSI

Control Structures in Programming Languages

Friday, March 6

Bellringer

Chapter 5 Chapter 1 Test

NMSI

Control Structures in Programming Languages DUE


Monday, February 24

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-8

Boolean Expressions and "If" Statements

Tuesday, February 25

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-9

"if-else-if" and Conditional Logic

Wednesday, February 26

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-10

Building an App: Color Sleuth

Thursday, February 27

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-10

Building an App: Color Sleuth

Friday, February 28

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-10

Building an App: Color Sleuth


Monday, February 17 

No School

Tuesday, February 18

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-6

Peer Review

Code Academy

Wednesday, February 19

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-1 Quiz

Code.Org 5-7

If-statements Unplugged

Code Academy

Thursday, February 20

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-8

Boolean Expressions and "if" Statements

Code Academy

Friday, February 21

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-8

Boolean Expressions and "if" Statements

Code Academy


Monday, February 10

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-4

Controlling Memory with Variables

Code Academy

Tuesday, February 11

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-5

Building an App: Clicker Game

Code Academy

Wednesday, February 12

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-5

Building an App: Clicker Game

Code Academy

Thursday, February 13

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-6

User Input and Strings

Code Academy

Friday, February 14

Bellringer

Code.Org Wrap Up

Code Academy


Monday, February 3

Bellringer

Code.Org Unit 3 Test Part 1

Code.Org 3-10 Projects

Tuesday, February 4

Bellringer

Code.Org Unit 3 Test Part 2

Code.Org 3-10 Projects

Code.Org 5-3

Building an App: Multi-Screen App

Khan Academy

Wednesday, February 5

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-3

Building an App: Multi-Screen App

Khan Academy

Thursday, February 6

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-3

Building an App: Multi-Screen App

Friday, February 7

Bellringer

Code.Org 5-4

Controlling Variables

Khan Academy


Monday, January 20

No School

Tuesday, January 21

Bellringer

Code.Org 3-8

Creating Functions with Parameters

Wednesday, January 22

Bellringer

Code.Org 3-9

Looping and Random Numbers

Thursday, January 23

Bellringer

Code.Org 3-10 Projects

Code Academy JavaScript

Khan Assignment

Friday, January 24

Bellringer

NMSI Algorithms Due

Code.Org Chapter 3 Test

Code Academy JavaScript

Khan Assignment


Monday, January 13

Bellringer

Code.Org 3-3

Creativity in Algorithms

Tuesday, January 14

Bellringer

Code.Org 3-4

Using Simple Commands

Wednesday, January 15

Bellringer

Code.Org 3-5

Creating Functions

Thursday, January 16

Bellringer

Code.Org 3-6

Functions and Top-Down Design

Friday, January 17

Bellringer

Code.Org 3-7

API’s and Using Functions with Parameters


Monday, January 6

No School

Tuesday, January 7

Bellringer

Explore Task Feedback

Code Academy

Wednesday, January 9

Bellringer

Code.Org

The Need for Programming Language

Thursday, January 10

Bellringer

Code.Org 3-2

The Need for Algorithms

Friday, January 11

Bellringer

Code.Org 3-2

The Need for Algorithms


Monday, December 16

Period 1

7:00-7:40

Period 2 Exam

7:44-9:46

Period 3

9:50-10:30

Period 4

10:34-11:14

Period 5 w/Lunch

11:14-12:28

1ST LUNCH

11:14-11:44

2ND LUNCH

11:58-12:28

Period 6

12:32-1:12

Period 7

1:16-1:56

Explore Task Upload and Finzalize

Tuesday, December 17

Exam

Wednesday, December 18

No Class

Thursday, December 19

No Class

Friday, December 20

No School

Happy Holidays


Monday, December 9

Bellringer

Explore Task Day 6

Staying Afterschool

Tuesday, December 10

Bellringer

Explore Task Day 7

Wednesday, December 11

Bellringer

Explore Task Day 8

Code Academy

Staying Afterschool

Thursday, December 12

Bellringer

Explore Task Day 9

Code Academy

Friday, December 13

Bellringer

Explore Task Day 10

Code Academy


Monday, December 2

Bellringer

Explore Task Day 3

Tuesday, December 3

Bellringer

Explore Task Grading

Staying Afterschool

Wednesday, December 4

Bellringer

Explore Task Grading

Thursday, December 5

Bellringer

Explore Task Day 4

Staying Afterschool

Friday, December 6

Bellringer

Explore Task Day 5


Monday, November 18

Bellringer

Code.Org 4-9

Public Key Encryption

NMSI Data Due

Tuesday, November 19

Bellringer

Code.Org 4-9

Public Key Encryption

Staying Afterschool

Wednesday, November 20

Bellringer

Review Unit 4

Khan Due

Code Combat Due

Staying Afterschool

Thursday, November 21

Bellringer

Unit 4 Test

Friday, November 22

Bellringer

Explore Day 2

Rubric


Monday, November 11

No School

Tuesday, November 12

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 4-6

Cost of Free

Explore Task 1b

Staying Afterschool

Wednesday, November 13

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 4-7

Simple Encryption

Khan Academy

NMSI

Staying Afterschool

Thursday, November 14

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 4-8

Encryption with Keys and Passwords

Khan Academy

NMSI

Friday, November 15

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 4-8

Encryption with Keys and Passwords

Khan Academy

NMSI


Monday, November 4

Bellringer

Code.Org 4-4

Rapid Research

Tuesday, November 5

Bellringer

Code.Org

Code.Org 4-4

Rapid Research

Staying Afterschool

Wednesday, November 6

Bellringer

Present

Code.Org 4-4

Rapid Research

Coding

Staying Afterschool

Thursday, November 7

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 4-5

Identifying People with Data

Friday, November 8

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 4-6

Cost of Free


Monday, October 28

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 4-1

Big Data

Tuesday, October 29

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 4-2

Finding Trends

Staying Afterschool

Wednesday, October 30

Bellringer

NMSI Due

Code Combat

Staying Afterschool

Thursday, October 31

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 4-3

Checking Assumptions

Friday, November 1

Bellringer

Explore Task Day 1a

Rapid Research


Monday, October 21

Bellringer

Present Rapid Research

Computational Artifact

Tuesday, October 22

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 2 Test Review

Coding

Staying Afterschool

Wednesday, October 23

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 2 Test

Coding

Staying Afterschool

Thursday, October 24

Bellringer

NMSI Sign Up

Friday, October 25

Bellringer

Coding


Monday, October 14

No School

Tuesday, October 15

Bellringer

Code.Org Unit 2-6

Rapid Research

Staying Afterschool

Wednesday, October 16

PSAT Schedule

Bellringer

Code.Org Unit 2-6

Rapid Research

Staying Afterschool

Thursday, October 17

Bellringer

Code.Org Unit 2-6

Rapid Research

Friday, October 18

Pep Rally Schedule

Bellringer

Code.Org Unit 2-6

Rapid Research


Monday, October 7

Bellringer

Code.Org Unit 2-3

Encoding Black and White Images

Staying Afterschool

Tuesday, October 8

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 2 Lesson 4

Encoding Color Images

Wednesday, October 9

Bellringer

Unit 2 Lesson 4

Encoding Color Images

Khan Academy

Thursday, October 10

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 2 Lesson 5

Lossy vs Lossless

Staying Afterschool

Friday, October 11

30 Minute Spear

End of the Nine Weeks

Bellringer

Khan Academy


Monday, September 30

Bellringer

Flash Talk Presentations

Khan Academy

Tuesday, October 1

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 2 Lesson 1

Bytes and File Size

Staying Afterschool

Wednesday, October 2

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 2 Lesson 2

Text Compression

Staying Afterschool

Thursday, October 3

Bellringer

Code.Org

Unit 2 Lesson 2

Text Compression Due

Friday, October 4

Bellringer

Khan Academy


Monday, September 23

Bellringer

NMSI Pre-Assessment Sign Up

Unit One Vocabulary

Puzzlemaker

Tuesday, September 24

Bellringer

NMSI Pre-Assessment

Swap Puzzles

Staying Afterschool

Wednesday, September 25

Bellringer

Present Flash Talk

Puzzles Due

Staying Afterschool

Thursday, September 26

Bellringer

Unit One Test

Present Flash Talk

Friday, September 27

HOCO AM PEP RALLY SCHEDULE

Bellringer

Present Flash Talk


Monday, September 16

Code.Org 1-14

Practice PT - The Internet and Society

Reflection

Tuesday, September 17

Code.Org 1-14

Practice PT - The Internet and Society

Reflection

Wednesday, September 18

Code.Org 1-14

Practice PT - The Internet and Society Due

Reflection

Thursday, September 19

Bellringer

Khan Academy

The Internet Unit

Friday, September 20

PEP RALLY SCHEDULE

Bellringer

Khan Academy

The Internet Unit


Monday, September 9

Bellringer

Code.Org 1-11

Packets and Making a Reliable Internet

Tuesday, September 10

Bellringer

Code.Org 1-12

Need for DNS

Staying After School

Wednesday, September 11

Bellringer

NMSI Evaluation

Thursday, September 12

Bellringer

Code.Org 1-12

Need for DNS

Staying After School

Friday, September 13

Code.Org 1-13

HTTP and Abstraction on the Net


Monday, September 2

No School

Labor Day Holiday

Tuesday, September 3

Bellringer

Rubber Duck Debugging

Code.Org 1-8

Internet

Staying After School

Wednesday, September 4

Bellringer

Code.Org 1-9

Need for Addressing

Staying After School

Thursday, September 5

Bellringer

Quiz Code.Org Chapter 1

Code.Org 1-9

Need for Addressing

Friday, September 6

PEP RALLY SCHEDULE

Code.Org 1-9

Routers and Redundancy


Monday, August 26

Bellringer

Code.Org 1-5

Binary Numbers

Tuesday, August 27

Bellringer

Binary Conversions

Staying After School

Wednesday, August 28

Bellringer

Code.Org 1-6

Sending Numbers

Staying After School

Thursday, August 29

Bellringer

Code.Org 1-7

Sending Text

Friday, August 30

PEP RALLY SCHEDULE

Scratch Binary Birthday Cake


Monday, August 19

Bellringer

Icebreaker

Presurvey

Code.Org

Personal Innovations

Tuesday, August 20

Bellringer

Code.Org

Personal Innovations Cont.

Blown to Bits Chapter 1

Wednesday, August 21

Bellringer

Code.Org

Sending Binary Messages

Blown to Bits Chapter 1

Thursday, August 22

Bellringer

Binary Messages

Blown to Bits Chapter 1

Friday, August 23

Bellringer

Code.Org

Sending Binary Messages with Internet Simulator

Blown to Bits Chapter 1 Quiz

Syllabus Due


Monday, August 12

Bellringer

Review Syllabus

Review Policies and Procedures

Signed Policies and Procedures Due Friday, August 23

Tuesday, August 13

Bellringer

Computer Log On

Edmodo Sign On

Classlink Set Up

Google Drive Set Up

Google Map Activity

Wednesday, August 14

Bellringer

Student Information Survey

The Day That You Were Born Activity

Thursday, August 15

Bellringer

Finish The Day That You Were Born Activity

Learning Styles Inventory

Friday, August 16

            First Period-Freshman Assembly

            Second Period-Sophomore Assembly

            Third Period-Junior Assembly

            Fourth Period-Senior Assembly

            Fifth-Seventh

            No Assemblies