CHELCO Donates $6,000 to OPSF for Teacher Grants

CHELCO Donates $6,000 to OPSF for Teacher Grants

CHELCO presented funds to the Okaloosa Public Schools Foundation (OPSF) this month for teachers’ grants which will be used to enrich science, technology, engineering or math (STEM) topics taught to public school children.

On September 6th, Rumi Nielson-Green, Manager of Communications and Community Affairs for CHELCO, presented a check representing a $6,000 investment in the Teacher Grant Program.  The contribution from CHELCO will be matched, dollar-for-dollar, through a matching grant program of the Consortium of Florida Education Foundations (CFEF) administered by OPSF.

Accepting the contribution on behalf of OPSF and the Okaloosa County School District, Superintendent Mary Beth Jackson expressed appreciation for the continuing support from CHELCO.  “We appreciate CHELCO’s continued investment in our children. These funds give our teachers a means to enhance instruction for their students and get the students excited about STEM.”

CHELCO is a not-for-profit electric distribution cooperative serving more than 50,000 accounts in Walton, Okaloosa, Holmes and Santa Rosa counties.

Teachers awarded CHELCO grants through a competitive application process for the 2017-2018 school year were:

  • Bluewater Elementary:
    • Marissa Agrell
    • Barry Blackburn
    • Lauren Brown
    • Claire Erk
    • Becky Miller
    • Katherine Stephens
    • Davidson Middle School:
    • Shannon Anderson
    • Tim Sexton
  • Baker School:
    • Sarah Gilbert
  • Laurel Hill:
    • Delilah Lewis



About Okaloosa Public Schools Foundation

The Okaloosa Public Schools Foundation, Inc. (OPSF) is a not-for-profit community-based public schools foundation. It is a partnership between families, schools, community and business. The Foundation is dedicated to supporting and extending the educational opportunities of all individuals within Okaloosa County. Since its establishment in 1995, OPSF has funded educational enrichment programs including teacher grants for unique programs, student scholars in the Take Stock in Children Program, community educational initiatives, and student and teacher recognition awards.