Academic Scholars Recognized for Accomplishments

The Okaloosa County School District’s annual Anne T. Mitchell Academic Honors Program was held this week to honor academic excellence among the 2013 graduating class.  Established by the School Board in 1975 at the suggestion of then-Board Member Anne T. Mitchell, the awards assembly was named in her honor for her commitment to recognizing academic excellence among our students.

Today the Anne T. Mitchell Academic Honors Program is widely replicated by school districts throughout Florida.  Students honored in this assembly are receiving the most prestigious accolades in our county school system.

Niceville High School’s U.S. Air Force JROTC Color Guard presented the Colors and Fort Walton Beach High School’s Voices of Valhalla sang the National Anthem. “The Stars of Tomorrow” - A Video Tribute to the Seniors of 2013, was presented by Niceville High School’s NTV class.  Refreshments for the reception were provided by CHOICE High School and Technical Center's Academy of Culinary Arts.  Entertainment for the reception was provided by the Lewis School Jazz Band.

The evening included the presentation of the Awards of Highest Distinction, the Peggy Gorday Bruner Award, the Gerald B. Gill Award, and the Maryann Foreman Award; and Academic District Honors Recognition.

Peggy Gorday Bruner Award

The Peggy Gorday Bruner Award is presented each year to the most outstanding scholar in the county. This year’s award went to Corey Andre, Fort Walton Beach High School.

Other nominees for this honor were (pictured below with Andre, left to right): Haley Wagner, Baker School, Erica Mecke, Choctawhatchee High School, Jayde Terrell, Crestview High School, Robert Hand, Laurel Hill School, and Addie Voigt, Niceville High School.

Gerald B. Gill Award

The Gerald B. Gill Award, presented by Superintendent, Mary Beth Jackson, was given to Austin Mallett, Choctawhatchee High School, as the senior student who has shown the greatest improvement during high school years in leadership, character and academics.

Other nominees for this honor were (pictured below with Mallett, left to right): Quinton Lindsey, Baker School, Dakota Woodward, Crestview High School, Mariely Liranzo, Fort Walton Beach High School, Garrett Alford, Laurel Hill School, and Patrick Devlin, Niceville High School.

Maryann Foreman Award - Correction (5/5/2013)

The Maryann Foreman Award was presented to Keundra Prince, Fort Walton Beach High School, (not pictured) as the senior student who has faced exceptional challenges with demonstrated perseverance and is committed to pursuing post-secondary education and achieving career goals.

Other nominees for this honor were (pictured below with Powell, left to right): Chenoa Powell, Baker School, Grayton Savickas, Choctawhatchee High School, Jessica Hendrix, Crestview High School, Jordan Woodley, Niceville High School and Amber Jacobs, Laurel Hill School. 

Academic District Honors Recognition Cum laude, a Latin term that means with honor, is used to refer to students who have met high academic standards at the time of graduation. There are three honors that are bestowed on graduates, including cum laude, which means with honors, magna cum laude, which means with great honor, and summa cum laude, which means with greatest honor.

The Okaloosa County School District recognizes the following Cum Laude distinctions:

Summa Cum Laude – 4.5+ WGPA
Magna Cum Laude – 4.2 - 4.49 WGPA
Cum Laude – 4.0 - 4.19 WGPA

To see a list by school of the District’s Cum Laude graduates, please click here.

To see a complete photo gallery of all of the honor graduates, click here.

Congratulations to all of the District’s Honor Graduates!